Skip to content

Mousa to Mackintosh & FREE Art of the Point Cloud Book Bundle


Order our new Historic Environment Scotland illustrated hardback publication of Mousa to Mackintosh online & also get a FREE copy of 'Art Of the Point Cloud' book worth £20 (While stocks last, for a limited time only - item automatically added to your order).

The architecture of Scotland exists in many forms. In Mousa to Mackintosh, Frank Arneil Walker examines the recognisable and recurring features evident in Scotland’s buildings across the centuries to build a picture of ‘Scottishness’ in architecture.

This chronological history presents an expansive view of architecture in Scotland, from Iron Age Brochs and classical country houses to baronial tower-houses and modernist New Towns, including the work of renowned architects such as Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Robert Adam, Basil Spence and Robert Lorimer. Walker considers the relationship between national characteristics and international influences in these structures to ask: what is the ‘Scottishness’ of Scottish architecture?

Frank Arneil Walker is an architect and architectural historian. He has been engaged in architectural practice and consultancy and has been involved in the committees and councils of many architecture-related bodies. Pursuing an academic career, he has taught at Glasgow School of Art, at the University of Strathclyde where he became Professor, and abroad. He is the author of a number of books, including volumes in the Buildings of Scotland and RIAS Architectural Guides series. For services to architectural history and conservation he was appointed OBE.

This beautiful hardback book contains a wealth of information and combination of supporting imagery in the form of monochrome and colour photography, illustrations and architectural plan drawings.

  • Author: Frank Arneil Walker
  • Historic Environment Scotland publication
  • Format: Hardback
  • 150 illustrations